UTAR President and Council Member awarded

UTAR President Ir Prof Academician Dato’ Dr Chuah Hean Teik and UTAR Council Member Senator Dato’ Dr Hou Kok Chung were awarded the “Taiwan Ministry of Education 2nd Class Professional Education Medal” (台湾教育部二等教育专业奖章) in Taiwan on 20 January 2016.

Dato’ Hou and Prof Chuah together with the former President of Federation of Alumni Association of Taiwan Universities in Malaysia, Yao Teck Kong, were the only three Malaysians selected to receive the award. They were awarded by Taiwan Education Minister Dr Wu Se-Hwa (吴思华) accompanied by Taiwan Ministry of Education Political Deputy Minister Dr Lucia S. Lin (林思伶). Also present at the award ceremony were former Taiwan Education Ministers Dr Ovid Tzeng (曾志郎) and Dr Huang Jong-Tsun (黄荣村).

The trio was applauded for their immense contribution in stimulating education growth as well as academic ties between Malaysia and Taiwan.

Prof Chuah’s unyielding and proactive efforts in spearheading the communication with the Malaysian Qualifications Agency have been essential in the materialisation of the mutual recognition of joint degrees.
During Dato’ Hou’s tenure as the Deputy Minister of Higher Education, great emphasis was placed on the improvement of Malaysian students affairs management in Taiwan. Dato’ Hou has also been very committed in developing and enhancing the academic collaborations between Malaysia and Taiwan.

According to Taipei Economic and Cultural Office in Malaysia Education Division Director Chu To-Ming, the “Taiwan Ministry of Education Professional Education Medal” is mainly awarded to individuals who have outstanding contribution in promoting and enhancing the development of Taiwan education. Chu added that the medals are only awarded on special occasions and first-time awardees are usually only awarded with a “3rd Class Medal”.

UTAR has had long standing relationship with over 30 universities in Taiwan. The close ties forged with these reputable universities over the years have spurred a wide spectrum of enriching activities which include staff and students exchanges, joint researches, new village collaborative projects and others.

快来留言! "UTAR President and Council Member awarded"