88 awards and 66 scholarships to be presented at Curtin Sarawak’s Award & Scholarship Ceremony

Award & Scholarship Ceremony

A wide range of awards and scholarships will be presented to top students and exemplary staff at the event.

Miri – 20 April 2012 – A total of 88 awards and 66 scholarships will be presented to top students and exemplary staff of Curtin University, Sarawak Malaysia (Curtin Sarawak) at its Award & Scholarship Ceremony 2012 on 27 April 2012.

The event will be held in the Sarawak Grand Ballroom of the Miri Marriott Resort & Spa and more than 200 award and scholarship recipients, their family members and invited guests, as well as senior management staff of Curtin University in Perth and Curtin Sarawak, and members of the Curtin Sarawak campus council and management board, are expected to attend.

It will be officiated by the chairman of the Curtin Sarawak Campus Council and former Deputy Chief Minister, Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Dr George Chan Hong Nam.

In addition to awards for making it into the Vice Chancellor’s List and for graduating from the prestigious John Curtin Leadership Academy, students will receive awards for academic achievement in specific disciplines, best subject and research papers, best design projects, outstanding performance in national or regional competitions, as participation in extracurricular activities and community service.

Meanwhile, staff members will receive awards for professional excellence and community engagement.

This year’s award sponsors are ACCA Malaysia, Bintulu Development Authority, CIMA, CPA Australia, Crowe Horwath, Ernst & Young, Halliburton Energy Services (M) Sdn. Bhd., HSBC Bank Malaysia Berhad, Institution of Engineers Malaysia (IEM) Miri, KPMG, Miri Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Miri City Council, Murphy Sarawak Oil Co. Ltd., PETRONAS, Polar Light Sdn. Bhd., Sarawak Information Systems Sdn. Bhd. (SAINS), Samling Group of Companies, Sarawak Higher Education Foundation, Shell Malaysia, Shin Yang Group of Companies, Tokuyama Malaysia Sdn. Bhd., Wan Ullok Jugah Chin & Co. Advocates, Wehaya Sdn. Bhd., Yayasan Sarawak and Zecon Berhad.

Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Dr. Chan; Assistant Minister of Sport and Assistant Minister of Communication Datuk Dr. Lee Kim Shin, who is also chairman of Curtin Sarawak’s Management Board; and former State Assembly Speaker Dato Sri Celestine Ujang Anak Jilan, who is a member of the Curtin Sarawak Campus Council, are also sponsoring awards for Most Outstanding Foundation Student, Professional Excellence (Individual/Group) and Outstanding Student Community Contribution Award (Individual/Group), and Best Film & Television Student, respectively.

The scholarships to be presented to deserving students at the event will be from Curtin University, Curtin Sarawak and the Western Australia Government. They will include the Curtin University Scholarships for Undergraduate Degree and Higher Degree by Research; the Pro Vice-Chancellor’s Scholarships for international students, the Dean’s Scholarship for Business; the Bill Nichols Scholarship for Engineering; and the Western Australia Premier’s Scholarship.

Staff members who have enrolled in undergraduate and postgraduate programmes at Curtin Sarawak as part of its Staff Study Support scheme will also receive their scholarships from the university.

For more information on Curtin Sarawak, visit its website at www.curtin.edu.my or e-mail to [email protected] Curtin Sarawak can also be found on Facebook at www.facebook.com/CurtinUniversitySarawakMalaysia.

快来留言! "88 awards and 66 scholarships to be presented at Curtin Sarawak’s Award & Scholarship Ceremony"